Homeless Link Excellence Awards 2018

Homeless Link is launching an annual award scheme to celebrate the best of the homelessness and supported housing sectors.

Support worker standing next to his client
Photography by Ian Cuthbert

About the awards

The deadline for submitting an application to the Homeless Link Excellence Awards has now closed! The winners will be announced at our Annual Conference - Under One Roof 2018

We want to be able to showcase the innovative, effective work that our members are doing around the country to support those experiencing homelessness. Why not enter and raise your profile as an award-winning charity, demonstrate the difference you are making, boost morale throughout your organisation and reward your hardworking teams?

These awards are free to enter and are open to any organisation that is a member of Homeless Link. There isn’t a limit on the number of categories that one organisation can enter. The deadline for entering is 5pm on Friday 4 May 2018. An entry form can be found at the bottom of this page.

The six awards in detail

1. Excellence in co-production
This award recognises projects, large or small, which have been designed and delivered through a partnership between individuals with experience of homelessness and supported housing professionals. As well as actively involving people with lived experience, the projects should duly acknowledge their contributions, and be able to demonstrate positive service impact and outcomes for the individuals as a result.

2. Innovation in housing
This award acknowledges projects that have come up with a different or enhanced housing offer for people who have traditionally been seen as ‘hard to house’.

3. Excellence in supporting people
This award honours services and projects that can demonstrate innovative and person-centred ways of working, which have led to improved outcomes for people facing homelessness or living in supported housing. This might include, but is not limited to, floating support, employment or training provision, advocacy or adopting a psychologically-informed approach.

4. Best use of technology
We live in an increasingly digital age; this award commends those projects that make clever use of technology to support people experiencing homelessness. This might include apps, online forums, GPS, videos and similar.

5. Social enterprise of the year
This award recognises social enterprises that can demonstrate a clear vision, strategic direction and business excellence alongside a social impact that is creating better outcomes for individuals experiencing homelessness.

6. Promoting diversity
This award celebrates projects and services that endeavour to reflect and cater to the diversity of people seeking homelessness support and can demonstrate that equalities issues are addressed in service design and delivery.

Judging criteria

The panel of judges will be looking for:

  • Evidence of impact
    Demonstrating the quantifiable social difference that your project or service makes in tackling or preventing homelessness and how this information is being used to refine your offer.
  • Efficient use of resources
    Demonstrating excellent value for money, where resources are carefully managed and not wasted.
  • Sustainability
    Demonstrating a longer-term business plan that is driving the organisation’s vision and mission forward and creating financial stability for the project or service.
  • Following a strengths-based approach
    Demonstrating that the individuals accessing your services are at the centre of what you do and are not only valued for their strengths, skills, and assets but are given real opportunities to use them.
  • Replicability
    Demonstrating how the learning from your project or service could be used by others to help prevent or tackle homelessness.
  • Inclusivity
    Demonstrating that the voices and views of individuals with lived experience of homelessness are genuinely involved in the design of the policies and services that support them.
  • Creativity and flexibility
    Demonstrating that your project or service is responsive to changing requirements, policies or developments in practice to ensure that it remains as effective and efficient as possible.

Award prizes

The winner of each award category will receive a prize fund of £500, a trophy and a certificate. The runner-up and third placed entries will each receive a certificate.


The deadline for submissions is 5pm on Friday 4 May 2018. Entries that have been shortlisted will be notified week beginning 21 May. The awards dinner, where the winner, runner-up and third placed entry will be announced, is on Tuesday 3 July at our annual conference, Under One Roof. Entering the awards does not entitle the organisation to a free place at our conference, Under One Roof.

Judging panel

We are pleased to have a panel of third sector professionals judging our awards. Our judges are:

  • Kate Alaway, Conferences & Events Manager, Homeless Link
  • Noel Martinperry Dalton, Member, Expert Advisory Panel Homeless Link
  • Jaishree Mistry, Investment Manager, Homeless Link
  • Rick Henderson, Chief Executive, Homeless Link
  • Katharine Sacks-Jones, Director, AGENDA
  • Karl Wilding, Director of Public Policy and Volunteering, NCVO
  • Steve Wyler, Founder, A Better Way Network

Terms and conditions

Please click here to view the award terms and conditions.

Talk To Us

Kate Alaway

Kate Alaway

Head of member services

Kate is our head of member services managing the team who work directly with our members across England.

Telephone: 020 7840 4461
Email: kate.alaway@homelesslink.org.uk
Twitter: @connectingkate